Tips & Pengalaman Meraih Beasiswa Australian Leadership Awards (ALA)

ausie.jpgTo get a PhD scholarship is my dream. I still remember, since I was at secondary school I used to write my own name completed with my “dream” title: Dr. Tony Dwi Susanto, S.T., M.T. Even sometimes I wrote Prof. Dr.Tony Dwi Susanto, S.T.,M.T. without knowing what is exactly the meaning of title “Professor”? Since secondary school up to now, my highest dream is achieving as high as possible my study level…ya…PhD…I have a dream to get a scholarship to get a PhD in abroad. Why must be abroad? Actually an offer of scholarship to take a Doctorate degree in Gadjah Mada University (national) had come to me before, but I think and I believe that S3/Dr/PhD is the highest achievement of our study.  I always pray and hope to Alloh, may He give me an opportunity to get a PhD in abroad. It’s why often I said to my wife in my age 30 that I still have 12 years keep trying to apply scholarships in abroad (because most of PhD scholarships require applicant less than 43 years old) , if I fail for next 12 years I will be ready to say “Yes, in fact and I am sure Alloh didn’t let me to take a PhD in abroad, maybe there is another better destiny”; I am not going to say that Alloh doesn’t let me to have something before I have done all the “ikhtiar” maximum.

Starting in year 2000, a big decision must I took, an option was given by my friend “Kelik Pelipur Lara” : Totally in Comedian or Leave the group? Year 2000 was the biggest year for me, I decided to start my journey to be a researcher and to leave all my opportunities as a comedian and entertainer. Step by step I let all the opportunities and job-offers go just because I believe in my mind that my biggest potential is not in entertainment…my biggest potential is in LEARNING / Knowledge. I get out of “ELBEHA”-comedian group (even there was still opportunity to play in national television), I just played in local television (RB TV and TVRI Yogyakarta) and sometimes in national television; One by one I closed my business (IEN, Compucare, etc); started my job as a lecturer. Ya..up to now I have been as a lecturer for about 7 years.

Turning up my “left brain” was not so easy since for more than 3 years I used to use my “right brain” as enterpreuneur and entertainment. I need to read a lot, to write much new knowledge, to practice my English often, lighting up my brievery, trying confidence in knowledge and so on.

I belive in Alloh, one day particularly if we ask to Him, He must give us, it’s his promise. The key is we have to understand the “Destiny Mechanism” how to get a PhD scholarships in abroad, do the best “ikhtiar”/shoot and see Alloh will fulfill His promise.

Alhamdulillaah since 2000, Alloh have given me 5 scholarships: BPPS (Master degree in Gadjah Mada University – Indonesia), IATSS Forum-Japan, Visiting Researcher Fellowships – Flinders University of South Australia, Research Assistantship-King Saud University of Saudi Arabia, and Australian Leadership Awards (PhD degree).

Some tips to get ALA scholarships in my opinions are:

1. Access the ALA website and learn what aspects do they expect about the applicants?

2. Your research is the most important part of your application, so your research proposal must fit with ALA’s research-topic area

3. Your research record is also an important consideration for them

4.  Fill out the online-application form carefully, do not fill out the form directly on their online system, prepare your answer first in Ms.Word, think and choose the best answers then paste on the online form.

5.  You must have a research supervisor before and must have accepted in a PhD/Master program at an Australia university (you must have the offering letter of the program and attach on your application).

6 . If You pass the administration step, you will be called for interview in Jakarta at 5 stars hotel with free accommodation and traveling cost. On this step, you should plan your future and step to achieve your dream and try to be someone “different”🙂

7. On the next steps (the Asia Pasific level in Canberra) You just can pray.

Do the best and pray the best!!!

10 Responses

  1. Wah…saya akan selalu sabar buat tunggu cerita sharing bapak tentang pengalaman bapak.
    Salute to Tony Dwi Susanto !!

    Saya juga ingin secepatnya lulus dari IF UPN lalu mengejar beasiswa seperti bapak. Hehehehhe

    regards
    enggar sp

  2. Bener nih dosen yg sdh 47 tahun kayak saya ng punya harapan lagi…? Ktnya DIKTI punya anggaran menyekolahkan S3 dosen2 ke luar negeri mulai thn 2008 ini, asal umurnya belum 50 tahun….(Krn target ng tercapai kl nunggu yg muda2 saja…ktnya sih begitu)…. Alhamdulilah kl begitu masih ada sedikit peluang nih….

    Tp syarat utamanya, pembimbing cari sendiri…. Sy mau nanya lagi nih (mudah2an ng bosan ya mas…he..he..):

    1. Kl S2 saya dalam negeri, apa ng sulit tuh ambil S3 nya di luar negeri?

    2. Gimana sih cara (trik)nya mencari dosen pembimbing di luar negeri…? Maksudnya prof yg mau diskusi proposal riset S3 saya…..bidang saya sistem informasi atau Audit Sistem informasi ….

    Punya info nih kali…?
    Ok,
    Thanks ya…!

    Gimana kabarnya Rundle Mall sekarang….? Mclaine House di dekat tea Tree Gully Plaza, Adelaide Tafe of College, Glenelg etc…I have been there during 1990-1991 to got post-graduate course…

    Rendra Tris
    ————-

  3. Mas Rendra setau saya masih banyak peluang kalo jalur sumber dana dari dalam negeri. Insya Alloh tetap mungkin dapat beasiswa S3 luar (Alhamdulillaah saya aja S2 -nya dalam negeri)..Trik contact professor: cari & pelajari paper dia, ajak diskusi trus ajukan rencana penelitian yang sejalan dengan paper2 dia🙂

  4. Saya sangat salut sama profil mas tony.(kok ada ya..manusia unik kayak mas ini di indonesia…hebat!) Begini mas, saya mahasiswa kimia ugm tingkat akhir, dosen saya telah merekomendasikan saya untuk melanjutkan S2 ke Innsbruck Universitat di Austria. Tetapi masalahnya adalah beliaunya belum mengetahui kalau kemampuan bhs inggris saya “terbelakang”. Saya ingin menanyakan apakah mungkin dalam waktu 6 bulan bisa menambah poit TOEFL sampai 120 point (kayaknya ga mungkin ya?) Saya tidak ingin kesempatan saya hangus cuma gara2 kendala bahasa. (dosen saya bilang kemampuan akademik saya diatas rata2).

  5. Mas Anggara…seringkali kesempatan datang sebagai wujud lain ‘Pemaksaan Pembelajaran’. Sebagai contoh: pertama kali saya datang di Ausie tahun 2005 langsung ditawari ngajar di kelas Ausie ama supervisor saya (pikir dia saya jago Computer pinter ngomong English) padahal waktu itu rata2 telinga saya cuma bisa nangkap 30-50% English Ausies aja sisanya pake jurus ‘Nebak’🙂 tapi tetep aja saya paksakan LANGSUNG SAYA TERIMA!!! Maju dulu Mas…Mumet belakangan…Hikmah yang saya peroleh: seringkali kita harus didorong ke KolamRenang yang Dalam untuk mau dan berani berenang :)) Sukses ya!!! Bismillaah..sing pinteng latihan dan belajar terusss!!! (nggak bakalan bodho wis)

  6. Salam Mas Tony,

    Saya ingin bertanya lebih jauh tentang ALA, alhamdulillah tahun ini saya dipanggil wawancara. Apakah ada alamat email yang bisa saya kontak? Soalnya agak panjang hehehe. Terimakasih sebelumnya.

    Wass,
    Inaya

  7. Selamat ya Mbak Inaya!!…at least udah masuk pada babak menentukan🙂 lha alamat email saya khan ada di kolom kiri blog saya: tonydwisusanto@gmail.com

  8. Tips yang sangat bagus.. terima kasih telah berbagi Mas Tony. Tulisan yang mencerahkan…

  9. Wuah jadi malu nih dikomentari ama “Pakar”nya Beasiswa..saya khan enggak dapet Sudrajat-ALA award mas Andi…saya tahunya juga belajar dari Bli Andi kok🙂

Leave a Reply

